Alumni Spotlight: Monika Goldschmidt

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 4.15.23 PMCurrent Role: Texas Marketing Service & Sales Representative

Graduation: Sport Marketing and minor in Business, 2014

Hometown: Westport, CT

Current Residence: Austin, TX

Email: Monika.Goldschmidt@athletics.utexas.edu

Q: What did you study at Xavier and when did you graduate?

A: I graduated from Xavier University in 2014 with a degree in Sport Marketing and a minor in business.

Q: Students always hear that ticket sales are a way into sports. How did you get into ticket sales and what do you like about it?

A: As a senior at Xavier, I saw an internship opportunity with Ohio University doing ticket sales for all of their sports. I never  considered going into sales, but applied and was offered the internship, and decided to see what it was all about. When I first arrived at Ohio, I was extremely intimidated that sales wouldn’t be for me. I left Ohio bringing in the most revenue that year, and decided to not count sales positions out. After Ohio, I found an opportunity with TCU Athletics focusing on group ticket sales. Once again, I had exceeded my own expectations for selling. I had the opportunity to do a lot of cool stuff with TCU; last summer, I took student-athletes to volleyball and basketball camps around the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The coaches were more than willing to have their student-athletes help in the effort to sell tickets. We even had the women’s basketball coach play water volleyball at a nursing home. It was quite the experience! What I love about ticket sales is that with the right administration, you’re given the opportunity to do fun and unique experiences. As long as the ROI pays off, supervisors are always open to new ideas.

Q: Can you give us a brief overview of your career so far from Ohio University to TCU to Texas? What does it mean to be a Marketing Service and Sales Representative at Texas?

A: In my experience, many ticket sales departments now fall under marketing, as opposed to ticket operations. We communicate more with marketing on the outbound efforts (both phone and emails), theme nights and group nights, as well as what games need to sell out. It seems to make more sense to report to the marketing department, but we are in close communication with the ticket operations department as well. Ohio, TCU, and Texas have all had a similar set up, where I fell under the marketing department.

The biggest difference with Texas compared to any school I’ve been with previously is I have one main sport I take ownership of, but at all times need to be educated on what is going on for all sports. I work mostly with women’s basketball, and even helped organize an away game bus trip for one of our games.

Q: How did your internship with the Xavier Athletics Ticket Office prepare you for your current job?

A: Interning with the Xavier Athletics Ticket Office was a really awesome experience. It gave me experience in the office, on game days, and even working events that the Cintas Center hosted. I’ve talked with colleagues who interned in ticket offices where students weren’t on the phones. During my senior year, Patrick Dillon even had me doing some outbound calls for women’s basketball groups to prepare me for my internship with Ohio. I felt like everyone in the athletic department truly wanted the student interns to succeed and get the best opportunities out there.

Q: What job do you hope to obtain next and how are you preparing yourself for that?

A: I actually never thought I would end up with the Texas Longhorns, but am so glad that I am here. I got to Texas because my supervisor at TCU knew my supervisor at Texas, and told me to apply. You never know who will connect you with someone else, or what opportunities they’ll send your way. I’d love to get more on the marketing side one day, but am open to whatever comes my way. In the meantime, I’ll prepare by making a good impression with everyone I work with, and getting know them. I’ve learned fast how much everyone in the industry is connected. It’s important to always put your best effort forward and make a good impression. You never know who a future employer will call for a reference.

Q: Do you have any advice to share with current Xavier students?

A: The advice I’d give to current Xavier students is to take any opportunity that comes your way, and don’t be afraid to reach out to anyone. In  college, I interned for the NBA Summer Leagues in Las Vegas by telling a family friend that I needed a sport-related internship. He happened to have a connection that got me in front of the right person. I never thought I would be working in sales, but I’ve really come to love it. The best thing you can do as an undergrad is take every opportunity you’re offered, and reach out to other people in the sport industry. During the first semester of my senior year, I was anxious to apply for internships and jobs, but nothing was open yet for the Summer. Instead, I reached out to a number of schools (close to 40) and asked someone in their department similar questions to this; how they got involved in sports, what I needed to do to be ready for an internship or job come May, and what advice they had for me.

Leave a Reply

